The Perks of Being a Holiday Worker

May 1.

It’s Labor Day (a national holiday indeed) and I just came home from WORK! Wiw, awesome. But seriously, I could’ve rejoiced wasting the day to my boring hobbies: reading a novel aloud, soaking my dirty clothes in fresh-smelling bubbles, playing my one and only playlist – yes, the entire album of Pitch Perfect – on my laptop, blog-hopping, checking the fridge if our can of ice cream has multiplied, and of course updating myself with the latest gossips in the whole world through Facebook. But I didn’t! I didn’t because as I’ve just said, I just came home from work.

I didn’t regret though. πŸ™‚

WHY? For three things, at least.

1. No traffic. Travel this morning? That was pretty swift. I actually struggled chasing time because it was already 08:00 and some freakin’ bad air was terribly troubling my tummy; and I wouldn’t go until I got darn relieved of it. So I thought, “Fine, I’ll be late.” I hailed a bus at 8:20 and I knew the remaining 40 minutes couldn’t save me from the “Tardy” remark. Just had to move the hell on. But then again, it’s holiday today and the highway was miraculously not jammed with reckless buses. I had a smooth lift to the office and at 8:42, I was already at my desk. Man, I even got to spare some three minutes to forget to log in. So 8:45 – time in. Lovely.

2.Β Β Canape Galore!Β Mid-morning, my supervisor asked, “What do you want for snacks? The Boss is asking.” Honestly, I wasn’t really after any particular recipe. I was thinking FREE SNACK! Sweet treat. My supervisor wanted Canape, and I like Canape, so be it. And when The Boss came, it was Canape galore!

3. My Tally Board Just Got Sweeter.Β We were just about to pack up and leave, and call it a holiday, when my supervisor said, “You have new registrations!” Sounded music, yeah. My counts are climbing and my tally board just got sweeter. Way to go, kiddo!

So what’s there to feel wasted about? Out of working on a holiday, I got me a triple-treat, some precious perks of being a happy holiday worker! πŸ™‚

The Perks of Being a Holiday Worker

21 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Holiday Worker

      1. No, not really. But it’s not like I have so much choice. I got this big bunch of fans called “deadlines” LOL πŸ™‚

      2. haha!! Naah! It was crap!

        But I did write a poem on ‘Working on a Saturday Afternoon’ and it pretty much echoes what you’ve written in your post.

      3. I’m looking forward to it then. Especially that sooner “or sooner” I’ll have to work on weekends πŸ™‚

      4. I mean the poem you wrote β€˜Working on a Saturday Afternoon’? I’m imagining the poem to be something relaxing, comforting, just the chill-out type so you won’t have to feel heavy about working on a weekend. Hehehe.

  1. Thank you for following my blog πŸ˜€ It really feels wonderful to get followers and so I decided I would look up your blog and guess what? Its beautiful, so I will be coming back more often than not (to see if your posts have multiplied πŸ˜‰ ) Thanks again πŸ˜€

Let's hear it! :)

