Things I Worry About At Twenty-Something

Never would’ve realized these things if I, for once or twice, did not get irritated with myself asking these questions over and over again. πŸ™‚

1. What to wear tomorrow?Β When I get home from work, I don’t usually spend a while longer in my office clothes slash outfit of the day. Of course, they’re already dirty with soot and sweat. So by the time I change for bed clothes, that’s also the minute I start figuring out what to wear the next day. Slacks? Skirt? Dress? What colors am I going for? Heels? Flats? How about the hair-do? And all that outfit shits. It’s both exciting and frustrating; frustrating when I’ve already gone drowsy and I still haven’t figured it out. Then in the morning, I wake up to panic for not having decided what to wear. So I rush to my outrageous heap of clothes, rummage for a good matching outfit, and that takes me…well…a good deal of time, which in such case is bad. And if I spend a little more time rummaging, I’d arrive in the office at 9:02. Two minutes late! Phew.Β (Thought: Blame the traffic, not me. HAHAHA!)

2. Have I got enough coins for my bus fare?Β I should know better now how precious it is to be able to find a seat in the bus on your way to work. Otherwise, you have the right to remain standing all throughout the ride rich in “inertia moments” – those sudden brakes that pull you to that stranger in front and bang your head against his bag; and then push you to another stranger behind and you have to say, “Sorry”. Awful.

For that, I make sure I got my both hands to pin me in place the whole time. So before I leave home, I also make sure I have enough coins to pay my exact fare. Not bills because I don’t have an extra hand to take my change and toss it in my coin purse and dunk it into my bag.

3. What to eat for lunch? What time can I eat lunch?Β I always wonder what time exactly I can eat my lunch. It’s irritatingly amazing how blood red flags and deadlines can keep you pinned down in your station. Bad thing is that the canteen is way down the ground floor. Then you get to look at the bottom-right corner of your monitor, it’s already 3:00 PM; worse, 4:00 PM. Happy lunch, yeeeaah! πŸ™‚

4. I’m not gonna be late for work, am I?Β Well, I worry about this everyday, starting when I’m halfway through the travel, or oftentimes when I’m just about to grab my bag and go. As calculated, I have to leave home at 7:45 to 7:50 AM. But because of #1 (What to wear) and this unnecessarily long time in the bath, I often take off at 8:00 to 8:10. It’s not like I’ve wasted thirty minutes but when you know traffic is readily waiting to welcome your day, five minutes is just so damn precious!

5. Where to find a pretty dead twig for my soda bottle vase?Β An unnecessary worry, fine. But because everytime I open the cupboard I see my empty Sola bottle stripped off of its label, I then start to mentally tour around the neighborhood and scout for a pretty dead twig that looks rustic enough to match our apartment’s intended interior. When I go out to buy food, groceries, whatsoever, I look around for this pretty dead twig but so far always unfortunate.

6. MY LAUNDRYYYY!!! When will I ever run out of dirty clothes???Β I don’t need to explain this, right? I don’t usually put off doing my laundry but it’s just awfully unbeatable! Good Lord.

Now, if I think of it, at twenty-something, I still think nonsense…a lot. πŸ™‚

Things I Worry About At Twenty-Something

5 thoughts on “Things I Worry About At Twenty-Something

    1. You just actually saved my day with this! Been a pretty long day for me, but here’s a very welcoming note. Really lovely. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

  1. Ah the joys of simple choices…made complicated! Fun post – but deeper than at first glance…worrying about what you’ve written about is a philosophy I have taken to heart over the last few minutes: we can choose what to worry about, why not choose things that can make us happy – good, timely lunch, instead of ‘other things’ = nice one!

    1. Indeed! And it’s funny how we knowingly or unknowingly complicate simple things. πŸ™‚

      Actually, I just realized that I missed something big in this post. I could’ve added: What will my inbox look like tomorrow? Hahaha!

      Sometimes we just really need to find little things to worry about to have things to smile about later on. πŸ™‚

      Thanks a lot for dropping by, Mr. Pirate. See you around!

Let's hear it! :)

