Love is strange. The man I was happiest with was…”stranger”.

Now all I can do is smile in disbelief; a smirk onto a feeling I’ve got to figure what exactly.

Good Lord, how on earth can love be so nonsense? And in that sense, it’s just got interesting.

Need no beer, need no smoke, it’s all clear; I got myself into loving a stranger for a damn good year. “Somebody that I used to know” – a song whose singer I can’t recall and I’d rather type what I’m saying now than “google” it – is in my playlist. People, I feel for these lines:

“But you didn’t have to cut me off

Make it like it never happened, and that we were nothing…

Now you’re just somebody that I used to know.”

And only to realize and ask, “Was he really somebody that I used to know?” It’s striking, annoying, maddening, frustrating, and pretty interesting.

An exaggerated comparison but please let me, for the sake of honesty and liberty. One year felt like a one-night stand with a stranger. It was there, it was good, and then it’s gone, so what now?

Nothing, just nothing. After all, the end simply justified the mean. We started as strangers at a table with cups of coffee and tea. Love isn’t so strange then. Now, we’re back to being strangers, like we’ve always been.

Love is strange. The man I was happiest with was…”stranger”.

5 thoughts on “Love is strange. The man I was happiest with was…”stranger”.

  1. Gotye. The name of the singer is Gotye. I adore that song.

    “Now, we’re back to being strangers, like we’ve always been.”. I like that sentence. It is strange that two people that use to share everything and be most important to one another become total strangers once more… But with time, we care less about it and finally we don’t care at all anymore, and we don’t wonder anymore. Maybe it’s better that way…

    1. “It is strange that two people that use to share everything and be most important to one another become total strangers once more…” so so so true, it just made me shiver. 🙂 At any moment, it would just snap and strike you like, “What was that?” And then you’d have to admit that big things could turn into things sooo small, they wouldn’t have to matter in the end. 😦

      And yes, Ms. Julie, “Maybe it’s better that way.” I forgot what movie, but a line there said, “Some things are best left broken.”

      That’s why I’m gonna find some more pretty things. They make my day! 🙂

  2. Just another chapter in life, and something that we have all experienced, sometimes more than once. But it always helps to think back to the good times together.

    jeritilley.wordpress.com

Let's hear it! :)

