Beef Salpicao My-Style

After a couple of weeks, I did cook again! This time I tried Beef Salpicao, which is one of M’s favorite beef recipes. But he’s not here anyway so he quite missed my first trial of his favorite dish, and maybe that’s a good thing in a way. 😀

And since I’m well aware that my cooking skills still need serious honing, I know better to always start with the simpler versions of every recipe I choose. Click here for the recipe. 🙂

b.saplicao

That decorative leaf there is a bitter gourd/ampalaya (in Filipino) leaf. I actually didn’t plan a plate presentation for this but something funny and stupid happened.

I was rummaging through the price-tagged packs of basil leaves looking for the cheapest since I needed only 15 grams. I found one priced 12 pesos, and after a quick check on the leaves which seemed good enough to my poor cooking standards, I tossed the cheap pack into my grocery basket. Then, after having gathered all the ingredients for Chicken Pesto Cream (which was supposedly the recipe for tonight), and as I was about to bend the first leaf off a stem, I realized it didn’t look anything like a basil leaf! My brains went, “Oh nononononono…!” Well, yes, I got the wrong pack of leaves. The tag said: AMPALAYA LEAVES. Bitter gourd. Suddenly I had to realize that I haven’t known how bitter gourd leaves look like, not until now. 😦

When I was done searing and tossing my rich-colored flavorful beef sirloin strips, I thought the serving still looked uninteresting. So I sprinkled some sesame seeds. Better, but not much. I decided I should boil half a dozen quail eggs; they should do for a more extravagant decoration. Yet still, my recipe needed one more final touch. And I though, “Let’s make use of those useless leaves.” I really wished I had parsley at least, but tsadaaa…one bitter gourd leaf should do! 😀

HURRAY, my judges said it was, “Okay!”, plus a little compliment. At least I didn’t get poker faces! HAHAHA 😀

 

Beef Salpicao My-Style

Let's hear it! :)

